The Classics Book Tag

leatherbound

Original Tag made by: It’s a Books World: (http://itsabooksworld.booklikes.com/post/1104267/the-classics-booktag-original )

1. An overhyped classic you really don’t like:

For me, that would have to be Othello by William Shakespeare. Even though Othello is considered one of Shakespeare’s more complex plays I had some trouble with its believability which created a barrier between me and the play. Whether this was because I studied this play in A-level English Literature and areas of the play were covered and analysed so much that the enjoyment was sucked out of it, I just don’t know.

2. Favourite time period to read about:

My favourite time period to read about would have to be the eighteenth and nineteenth century.

3. Favourite fairy-tale:

My favourite fairy-tale is Beauty and the Beast (Disney) it has been ever since I was a little girl. Have you seen Beast’s Library…. ❤️‍😍❤️‍

Disney-Company-movies-library-Beauty-And-The-Beast-_257076-19

4. What is the most embarrassed classic you haven’t read yet:

For me, I don’t find it embarrassing if I haven’t got round to reading a certain classic as of yet. I look at it instead that I have new stories, places and characters to discover but if I have to pick one then it probably would have to be Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. Which I am currently reading at the moment so this will soon be rectified!

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):

  1. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving
  2. A Passage to India by E.M.Forster
  3. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
  4. The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
  5. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

To be honest I don’t tend to read modern books/series based on classics so this question was a bit tough. I went back through my Goodreads and came across just one book that could be considered as a modern take on a classic and that would be The Sleeper and Spindle by Neil Gaiman. Which is a graphic novel based on a cross over of two fairy-tales: Snow White and Sleeping Beauty.

7. Favourite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:

For this question I have two answers for favourite tv-series and two answers for favourite movie version based on a classic: My two favourite tv adaptations based on a classic are the 1995 Pride and Prejudice and the 2015 An Inspector Calls. My two favourite movie adaptations based on a classic are 10 Things I Hate About You (1999) which is a modern take on Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew and Clueless (1995) which is based on Jane Austen’s Emma.

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation:

For me, this would have to be the adaptation of The Snow Queen (2002) which was produced by the tv network Hallmark. I absolutely love Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy-tale The Snow Queen, however, when it came to this adaptation of the story I just did not like it. I feel that the role of the Snow Queen could have been done so much better.

9. Favourite edition (s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

I would love to collect more classics from:

Oxford World Classics:

classics

Penguin English Library:

English_Library

Puffin Classics (Don’t own any of these as of yet):

31e8aca15315358f952c28dd5257da4f

Vintage Red Spines:

IMG_1727

10. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

I have two underhyped classics that I would like to recommend to everyone and they are: The Last Day of a Condemned Man by Victor Hugo and Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë.

I would like to tag some people to do this tag and they are:

Lexi from The Reader’s Review (http://the-readers-review.blogspot.co.uk/ )

Shannon from Reflections of a Reader (https://reflectionsofareader.net/ )

Irini from BReading Hard (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6rdEY3yrfY9r50-D14K6LQ )

Leanne from Leanne Rose (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCN4GiyNI5vGmunlGP7WZ6Iw )

(Images from Google Images)

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “The Classics Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Classics Book Tag! – Reflections of a Reader·

  2. 1. I have as yet to read Othello! I hesitate because I’m not sure I can handle Iago’s lies and Othello’s jealousy.
    5. I love The Legend of Sleepy Hollow…it’s so beautiful! I should try more Irving.
    10. I believe Anne Bronte is my favourite of the three sisters. I love Agnes Grey. It is realistic with a gentle vein. Your post “In search of Anne Bronte” is the next one I intend checking out. 🙂

    Like

    • I studied Othello during my A-levels and the teacher I had sucked the enjoyment totally out of it. However, I do plan on reading it again in the future to see if my feelings towards it have changed. I’m so looking forward to reading The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, I know of the tale and I have seen the movie and loved it. Hoping to get round to reading it this Halloween. Anne is definitely my favourite Bronte and I totally agree with you about Agnes Grey being realistic with a gentle vein. I hope you enjoy In Search of Anne Bronte it’s a brilliant book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone that is a fan of Anne Bronte or the Bronte family in general.

      Like

  3. Thanks for the recommendations! I loved A Passage to India and
    The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, I’ve been looking for more Brontë recommendations as I didn’t enjoy Jane Eyre (controversial as that may be) so Agnes Grey appeals to me

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping to get to A Passage to India and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall at some point this year. To be honest I have never read Jane Eyre and to fair it doesn’t really appeal to me. I loved Agnes Grey and would highly recommend it. I also think this novel and Anne Bronte are seriously underrated.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Classics Book Tag | Where there's Ink there's Paper·

Leave a comment