Little Lord Fauntleroy By Frances Hodgson Burnett

DCc_4jzXgAMPeh3

He knew nothing of earls and castles; he was quite ignorant of all grand and splendid things; but he was always lovable because he was simple and loving. To be so is like being born a king.

As was previously stated in my review of The Railway Children and The Secret Garden I have a few children’s classics on my list to read. After reading The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett I knew I wanted to explore more of the literature that she has written. So, once again I would like to thank Will at Alma Books for being so kind and offering to send me a copy of Little Lord Fauntleroy in exchange for an honest and fair review.

Little Lord Fauntleroy was written by France Hodgson Burnett and was first published in 1886. After reading The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and absolutely loving it, I knew that I wanted to explore more of her books so when Will at Alma Books contacted me asking if I would like a copy for review I jumped at the chance at reading more of her work. I actually had never heard of Little Lord Fauntleroy until I researched the author’s work more and can I just say it didn’t disappoint.

The story centres on (official blurb): “Growing up in a poor New York neighbourhood, Cedric Errol appears to be a normal American boy. However, as he discovers when he meets his grandfather, the Earl of Dorincourt, he is actually Lord Fauntleroy, and his expected to become an English gentleman. Whisked away from his mother and his friends, Cedric must find a way to convince his grandfather to send him home and show him that there is more to nobility than titles and wealth.”

This children’s classic is such a charming little story that is written with just the right amount of intrigue for children. Unlike The Secret Garden this book can seem at times unrealistic however, saying that the story is so sweet and compelling and at times funny and interesting. Once again the illustrations in this edition by Alma Books are absolutely beautiful and show love, death and life. This book is very similar to The Secret Garden in the sense that it does have a clear statement to its story. The clear statement with Little Lord Fauntleroy is that a child can teach an adult to love as well as the fact there are more important things to life then titles and money.

And that is best of all, Ceddie,—it is better than everything else, that the world should be a little better because a man has lived—even ever so little better, dearest.

Throughout this novel there is a charming aspect to it as well as the fact that this novel is well written and I love the way Frances Hodgson Burnett pokes fun at the aristocracy. Through the whole of this story Cedric’s optimism, kindness and refusal to believe in the slightest bad word about his grandfather‘s character actually begins to change his grandfather for the better. One thing that took me by the surprise was the plot twist that occured, which actually complicates matters, but ends up reaffirming a very important message that indeed goodness and charity will always overcome evil, greed and deceit.

Overall, I loved the perspective and moral of this sweet little children’s book which is the fact Cedric has such a beautiful view of the world and that money definitely will not buy you happiness. Little Lord Fauntleroy is a very readable children’s classic that I would recommend to both children and adults alike.

4-stars

The edition that I read was published by Alma Classics (2017)

(Image is my own please do not copy/take without permission first)

Leave a Reply

