The Autumn Reading Tag

autumn-reading-tag

Delicious Autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the Earth seeking the successive Autumns. – George Eliot

Are there any books you plan on reading over the autumn season?

Yes there are many books I would like to get to over the Autumn season however, just to name a few that I would like to definitely read this season are as followed: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë, 11.22.63 by Stephen King, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.

September brings back to school memories: What book did you most enjoy studying? And what were your favourite and least favourite subjects?

Two of the books I enjoyed the most studying at school was Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (which is one of my favourite books ever and also where my love of Dickens started) and the second book was Holes by Louis Sachar which is just a brilliant read. When it comes to subjects my most favourite subject at school was History so much so that I am currently studying a History degree,as my dream career is to become a University Lecturer in Medieval History and hopefully one day write my own history books. My least favourite subject(s) was Maths (closely followed by Science and P.E.) I hated these three subjects with a passion.

October means Halloween: Do you enjoy scary books and films? If so what are some of your favourites?

Yes I do enjoy scary books – anything and everything by Stephen King and I also enjoy scary/spooky movies I have enjoyed the spookier side of certain things ever since I was a little girl. Some of my favourite scary/spooky movies would probably have to included some childhood favourites such as The Addams Family movies, Hocus Pocus, The Little Vampire, Edward Scissorhands, etc. And some of my other favourite scary/spooky movies would have to be Dracula, The Lost Boys, Horns, Carrie, Sleepy Hollow, Van Helsing and two TV shows I loved growing up and still do would have to be Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Team Spike) and Supernatural. There are many more favourites… These are just a few that come to mind!

With November it’s time for bonfire night and firework displays. What’s the most exciting book you’ve read that really kept you gripped?

For this question I am going to chose a book that I have read recently and that is The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King.

What book is your favourite cosy comfort read?

I think my answer here would have to be anything in the Poirot series by Agatha Christie. For me, there is nothing better then sitting down with a big mug of tea and jumping straight into a Hercule Poirot murder mystery novel on a chilly autumn day.

Curled up with a good book, what is your hot drink of choice?

This definitely isn’t a hard question at all for me because if you know me well you know it would have to be a big mug of Yorkshire tea with little milk (I like a strong cup of tea) or a cup of green tea/Jasmine green tea.

Any plans you’re looking forward to over the next few months.

Yes! Lots more reading especially now the nights are getting longer and darker. More specifically seeing the new Star Wars movie in December and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie in November as well as hopefully taking a trip back to Warner Brothers Studio for Hogwarts in the Snow. Other then that just Autumn walks and of course browsing bookshops.

Now for the people I am going to tag:

Lexi at The Reader’s Review

Shannon at Reflections of a Reader

Adrian and Dalton at StrippedCoverLit

Lil at Lil’s Vintage World

Jane at Beyond Eden Rock

Original tag by: Amy Jane Smith

Tagged by: suddenlylorna

(Image and edit are my own please do not use/copy without permission first)

 

One response to “The Autumn Reading Tag

  1. Lovely! I loved History as well and while I did not pursue it for a higher degree, i still read it extensively and love the subject.Hated PE with all my heart! Happy Autumnal Reading 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

