#Victober Tentative TBR

victorian-october

Throughout October a group of awesome booktubers will be running a Victorian readalong known as #Victober. The goal of the readalong is to read Victorian Literature throughout the whole of October. Each one of the five booktubers have come up with a different challenge for #Victober. I will link each of their announcement/tbr videos down below for you guys to check out!

I am not normally one for tbr’s they never really work for me, so this will be a tentative tbr. However, I will do a wrap up at the end of October for you guys to see which Victorian books I did get to/read over the course of the month.

Now for the challenges and my tbr:

  1. Read a Victorian Gothic Novel ~ For this challenge I have two books that I would like to get to, the first one being Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë and the second being The Body-Snatcher by Robert Louis Stevenson.
  2. Read a Victorian book by a female author ~ For this challenge I have cheated a bit as I have already started one of the books I have chosen however, I would like to finished it at some point this month and that is North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell and the other book is Silas Marner by George Eliot.
  3. Read a Victorian novel where a plot is afoot ~ For this challenge I have chosen to read The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.
  4. Read a Victorian novel within a week ~ For this challenge I have a selection of books to chosen from/would like to get to at some point this month and they are: Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll, The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde, The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy and last but not least another cheat one as I am already a good way through this novel however, I want to finished it this month and that is The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James.
  5. Read a Victorian book that is not a novel ~ For this challenge I have chosen two books that I would like to get to, the first one being Peter Pan (or The Boy who would not grow up) by J.M.Barrie (Cheating a bit here as technically Peter Pan was published in the early Edwardian Period however Barrie was born in the Victorian Period so I’m still going to count this :D) and the second one being The Importance of being Earnest by Oscar Wilde.

As I said before this tbr is a tentative one due to the fact they never normally work for me. However, I will do a blog post at the end of the month wrapping up what I have read for #Victober as well as some book reviews throughout the month.

Find below the links to the announcement/tbr videos of the five awesome booktubers that are hosting #Victober:

Katie from Books and Things: Announcement and TBR Video

Ange from Beyond the Pages: Announcement and TBR Video

Yamini from The Skeptical Reader: Announcement and TBR Video

Kate from Kate Howe: Announcement and TBR Video

Alysia from Exlibris: Announcement and TBR Video

 

(Image from Google Images)/(edit by me: do not use/copy edited photo without permission first)

 

 

 

6 responses to “#Victober Tentative TBR

  1. This sounds lovely! I’d have loved to take part…but I’m bad with lists too. The moment I make them I break them.

    You’ve got a nice selection lined up, though. But is J.M. Barrie considered a Victorian writer? I was under the strong impression he was an Edwardian.

    Like

    • Thank you ~ I probably/most like will break my list as well but I will be doing a Wrap Up of sorts at the end of the month showing what I actually did read. Technically Peter Pan was published in the early Edwardian Period but J.M Barrie was born in the Victorian Period so I’m cheating a bit here lol 🙂

      Like

  2. Reading Victorian Literature in October? How in the world can I pass this up! I will put a blog soon, though I have to think about the books I do want to read! Thanks a ton for sharing! This should be FUN!

    Like

  3. Pingback: October and Reading – Mockingbirds, Looking Glasses and Prejudices…·

Leave a Reply

