Bad Ass Poetry 101 Tag

Instagram-Poets-Header-798x350

I was tagged by the awesome guys Adrian and Dalton over at Stripped Cover Lit (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzUPWU_SqbUvZw1pyi-ZVeg) to do the Bad Ass Poetry 101 Tag. Definitely go and check there channel out its awesome! So, here it is guys:

1. Sylvester Stallone: A self-made original who has been doing it for decades. What is the first poem you remember?

When I was little my mum used to read a lot of children’s poetry to me and I can remember two in particular that she use to read to me but I’m not sure which one was the first, so I’m going to put both of them and lucky enough they are both by the same person and they are Wind on the Hill and Now we are Six by A.A.Milne.

2. Arnold Schwarzenegger: It’s easy to be captivated by Herculean stature  combined with boyish charm. What was your first favourite poem?

My first favourite poem stems back to my high school days I was around the age of 14/15 when we first started to really study poetry in depth and the poem was The Eve of St Agnes by John Keats. Little did I know at this age that this poem would go on to stem my love of John Keats and to this day he is one of my favourite poets.

3. Bruce Lee: The standard. Hard to argue with this level of excellence. What is the greatest poem you’ve ever read?

For me there is no other answer for this question it has to be Sonnet 18 by Shakespeare. It has everything you could ever want in a sonnet plus so much more!

4. Jackie Chan: Starring in approximately 4 movies a year since the 1920’s, it is impossible to avoid the Chan man. What poet have you read the most from?

This question for me most definitely links with question 2 – the poet that I have read the most from is John Keats I literally will read anything of his I can get my hands on.

5. Terry Crews: An underutilized potential superstar. Who is a poet you would like to read more from?

For me the answer would have to be Charles Bukowski – I read my first collection of his earlier this month and really enjoyed it. His poetry collections are definitely something that you can sit down with and read in one sitting because they flow just like a good novel.

6. Charlize Theron: A woman who’s presence and authority goes unquestioned out of sheer bass-assedness. Who is one female poet (not already mentioned in this tag) that you feel deserves more attention?

Alice Walker – She maybe a well known author (The Color Purple), however I feel that her poetry definitely deserves more attention especially her poetry collection titled Revolutionary Petunias. This collection is beautiful, strong, pensive, and unapologetic.

7. Donnie Yen: A supernova in a foreign action scene. Who’s ageless poetry are you only familiar with through translation?

When it comes to this question I have read a few pieces of poetry that I am only familiar with through translation and the first one of course is Beowulf,  some of the other ones are poetry by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (one of the world literature’s towering figures) and A.K.Tolstoy (Leo Tolstoy’s cousin) in particularly his poem titled Wolves.

8. Christian Bale: He’s Batman. Whats the best poetry collection you’ve ever made it through?

I promise I won’t mention John Keats for the third time here 🙂 The best poetry collection that I have made it through will be a more personal one for me it is my grandad’s. Throughout his life he wrote hundreds of poems that all had personal links to him, his family or current events, they are his legacy and something that is very much treasured within our family. They hold such special memories for me – I use to spend hours with my grandad going through and organising and numbering them. He is also the person that I inherited my love of poetry from and it will always hold a special place in my heart because of him.

I would like to tag some people to did this tag and they are: Victoria from A Hermit’s Progress (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxjNYl3oyiIarerhymiNsUg), Lianne from literarydiversions (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl7DCmV8uT4EZHoncAq0GBg) and Lesley from WordsofaReader (https://www.youtube.com/user/WordsofaReader/featured).

(Image from Google Images)

 

 

2 responses to “Bad Ass Poetry 101 Tag

    • It’s nice finding other people who like John Keats and his works of poetry. The Eve of St Agnes is definitely awesome and was one of my first tastes of Keats’ poetry. Your welcome ~ I look forward to hearing your answers 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

