Reading & Writing

tumblr_static_5yep81c9l400sco0w008g8cog

For a long time now I have been wanting to start a blog especially for my love of books. I finally took the plunge last night and started to set things up on here. I thought this platform would be the perfect way for me to establish myself as a reader and maybe even a writer. I have been reading for as long as I can remember, even though i did have some difficulties with it at the very start that did not stop me from reading books and loving them as well. In my first years of reading my great loves were A.A Milne’s Winnie the Pooh, Beatrix Potter’s tales such as Mrs. Twiggy-Winkle, The Talior of Glouchester, Enid Blyton’s The Faraway Tree Stories and Roald Dahl’s The Twits.

During school I was introduced to novels, plays and poems such as Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, John Keats’ selected poems, William Shakespeares’ Much ado about nothing, and Tennesse Williams’ Streetcar Named Desire. From here my love for reading bloomed even more.

It became apparent in these years that I had a love for the works of Charles Dickens, John Keats, Jane Austen, William Shakespeare and many others. They have become some of my favourite authors and poets. When it comes to my love of poetry it was something I inherited from my Grandad. A day never went past without him showing or reading to me one of his new poems that he had written. I cherish my love of poetry because it was something that he instilled in me.

I believe one of the most important things when it comes to books and reading is to instill the love of them into others. If the love of books and reading is already present within someone then you should encourage that love to grow.

(Image from Google Images)

4 responses to “Reading & Writing

  1. So glad you have decided to join in the Emma read-along! We will have great fun reading and discussing this book, and many more to come. I hope you will enjoy blogging about books as much as I have for the pas (nine) years. Who knew I’d be at it that long?! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

